It is located in the picturesque town Kollengode, enveloped by the Nelliyampathy Hills on one side and a large belt of lush green paddy fields on the other. It is situated at about 57 km away from Thrissur district. Etymologically, “Kollengode” has its origins in the blacksmith community who are referred to as “Kollan” in Malayalam. They were the prime denizens of this locale at the time. The Kollengode Palace was built at the behest of the Raja of Kollengode, Vasudeva Raja, in the year 1904, which was passed on to his beloved daughter as a gift. The composition of this spectacular edifice is a blend of Kerala's vaastu shastra with a hint of the Western style, making it truly an architectural marvel. In 1975, the Kollengode Palace was turned into a District Heritage Museum. It has now been converted into an Ayurvedic retreat.